In celebration of Japanese ballet dancers

In homage to the lovely 'Osipova thread', I would like to start a chat about the way that Japanese dancers have given so much to our enjoyment of ballet here in the UK and elsewhere.  As a pianist, I have long appreciated and been thankful that artists from Japan, China and Korea perform Western works with such exceptional sensitivity and technical brilliance.  Sometimes I feel that they will carry the baton for this precious canon whilst we in the West succumb to Kardashidisneycrasspopitus.  The world of ballet - fragile as it is, in need of new audiences and continuity of tradition over the coming decades - is also in debt to the East.  I recently glanced at the list of principals/soloists in RB, BRB and ENB and wasn't surprised to see that nearly one in five are Japanese.  My personal favourite is Momoko Hirata, who seems super human in the gossamer magic she creates on stage, but there are many other wonderful Japanese dancers here too.  I'm afraid I am largely ignorant of those dancing abroad but I'm sure I am missing some wonderful ballerinos and ballerinas.  Life is just too short - especially with covid restrictions! 

I have also enjoyed Akane Takada in the past and have resolved to make a point of seeing more of her in 2022.

So, which Japanese dancers do you particularly love?  Any particular roles and memories?  Anyone I should resolve to see here or abroad who is unmissable?

• Like 5

• Replies 69
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Nao Sakuma was Wonder Woman during her 22 years at BRB.

I agree re Momoko.

Miyako Yoshida was awesome at BRB and, I believe, the Royal.

Chiaki Nagao was glorious at NB.  As was the recently retired Ayami Miyata.

Of the gentlemen I would commend Riku Ito at NB.

And these are to name just a few.

• Like 5

I’d like to add Miki Mizutani of BRB. I’m off to Plymouth next week to see her debut as Juliet.