Your favourite ballet or dance/act from a ballet?

Hi everyone!

I'm still relatively new to ballet and would like here to list my fave ballet (or particular act or dance from a ballet). This will also help to discover new pieces to see and discover....

My favourite ballet:

Fokine's The Dying Swan (I think Lopatkina is better than Zakharova here although Plisetskaya is the best!)

Swan Lake (esp. add)

and Giselle (esp. Act 1 Variations). Balanchine's Jewels (Mariinsky)

and I love Kitr's dancei from Don Quixote (though I've not see that one live yet).

I also loved the Bolshoi's Le Corsaire. 

I've seen some more modern ballet too but not such a big fan of it compared to classical although one of my all-time favourite's is

Patrick de Bana's Digital Love (with Zakharova) 

• Like 1

My favourite ballets are

La Fille mal Gardee (Ashton Royal Ballet)

Onegin (Cranko Royal Ballet)

Don Quixote (Bolshoi)

Le Corsaire (Mariinsky)

Manon (Macmillan, Royal Ballet) or Giselle (Wright, Royal Ballet) or Merry Widow (Ronald Hynd version)

I also really enjoyed Hobson's Choice (Bintley, Birmingham Royal Ballet) and Northern Ballet's Romeo and Juliet and A Christmas Carol.

these are all full length ballets.

My favourite short ballets are

Two Pigeons (Ashton, Royal Ballet)

Rhapsody (Ashton, Royal ballet)

Les Patineurs (Ashton, Royal ballet)

The Dream (Ashton, Royal ballet)

Month in the Country (Ashton, Royal Ballet) or Winter Dreams (Macmillan, Royal Ballet)

• Like 2

Favourite ballet - anything by Balanchine, but especially Agon, Apollo and The Four Temperaments.

I also very much like Swan Lake, but since it can be very good, or very bad, depending on which company is doing it, so I don't include it in my top five.

• Like 1

That is so true, Trog (post 5), seeing a "challenging" production of a favourite ballet can be disappointing.