Giving up

Tulip

Shocked to hear of so many talented dancers who no longer want to dance once their training is complete. I expected a couple but there are a good few, and this is coming from top ballet schools. Is this very common? My daughter still wants to keep going, but it is very very tough emotionally on them all. Does it get worse once they get into a company?

• Replies 86
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I have no practical experience but I expect it will be harder once a dancer gets into a company.  There will be even longer days for one thing when the company is performing and I would guess that, no matter how friendly the company, there will be stressing about getting roles.

The Northern Ballet Academy professional graduates scheme was set up because David Nixon felt that some students may not be ready for professional life when they first graduate.

Some constant injury and stressing over recovery. Then the constant lows of never being good enough in their own minds. Some just don't want the same constant routine of classes and fall out of love with dance. Keeping to the correct weight and not having much of a social life. I am thinking that a lot of these points play a factor in their decisions.

• Like 2

I've heard of talented dancers quitting purely because they felt it wasn't for them anymore, they wanted a change.

I guess no matter how talented you are if you don't have the passion you will only succeed as far as you want.

(I hope that makes sense I spent ages trying to figure out how to word that!)

• Like 3