Hi

Have found this forum really helpful as I'm a newbie dance parent.

So asking after your wealth of knowledge and experience once again.

Whilst my child ponders her yr7 direction and is looking to audition for various vocational schools, which the short list is now Elmhurst, RB, Hammond and Tring... lol got to love the enthusiasm! 😂 so whilst mentally going through my dance hit bank account I am wondering if we should even go to the expensive and logistics of the Elmhurst prelims as she was turned down for the Young dancers video audition? She was offered YD last year but we had to turn it down. DD is an RBS JA and her W/L prelims will be done at the MA audition.

My thinking is because she got in YD last year but not this year, that maybe this signals the end of the journey with Elmhurst?? I really can't fathom all this out 😂😂

Thoughts or previous experiences please as my head hurts thinking about it now haha

(DD is fully aware that it's all highly competative) 

• Replies 884
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Don’t rule anything out based on previous auditions. Children progress at such a rate, and so much can change in the space of a year. If Elmhurst is a school you like, it’s definitely worth a try, as otherwise you will be left wondering. There have been new starters in DD’s year that weren’t successful at their first attempt. People are absolutely right when they say it’s a ‘not yet’ rather than a ‘no’.

• Like 1

I can understand your reservations about the cost - but to get the best chance of her getting a place at vocational school in Y7 I would suggest auditioning for as many as you can afford.

Given that she is an RBS JA, and has been previously offered a place on Elmhurst's Young Dancer programme (albeit not this year - but this is a weird one to be sure!) she stands as good a chance as anyone else.