Hello adult newbie here with questions...

polishrose

Firstly, some background...I did ballet a very very long time ago, gave up when I was 9..I am now 42(43 next month).I am also overweight-very very overweight.Totally unfit.I am however quite flexible.I can still touch the floor with my hands and have straight legs. My eldest daughter,19,who still does ballet at uni while studying geography(not at the same time!) suggested to me that I should try an adult ballet class.I remember the 5 positions and that's about it.

So..questions...should I try the classes? Am I going to make a fool of myself?I am not expecting ballet to make me lose weight-I am doing swimming and cycling for that and eating appropriately) but I am hoping it will help tone up muscles and skin.I am hoping it will make me more graceful, more aware of my body,happier with myself.Should I try the total beginners class or the one aimed at all abilities?My daughter thinks I should do the all abilities one.Although I am quite flexible leaning forward, my sideways movement is very stiff, as are my shoulders.

Secondly-where can I get suitable clothing?I am a size 22 on top and a size 26 on the bottom(uk sizes).I would prefer to wear a leotard and tights as I want to feel like a proper ballet dancer, rather than someone doing an exercise class.I don't want to spend hundreds on these items though.Also what type of ballet shoes should I get?Full sole or split sole?I am a uk size 6/6.5.Fairly high arches but occasionally suffer from plantar fascitis in my left foot only.I also have wide feet.Can I buy shoes online or should I only buy after being fitted in person?

Thirdly...I'm worried about making a fool of myself.I know already I will be the biggest person in the class.Do you think the others will laugh at me?