Bayrisches Staatsballet - Onegin 2024

I was very lucky to have just seen 3 lovely performances of Cranko's Onegin in Munich.  I really love this ballet and it never disappoints.

My 1st and 3rd shows had the first cast:-

Onegin - Osiel Gouneo

Tatiana - Laurretta Summerscales

Lensky - Antonio Casalinho

Olga - Margarita Fernandes

Gremin - Matteo Dilaghi

I was thrilled to be able to see Laurretta Summerscales twice as Tatiana - a role that suits her very well indeed. Gouneo made a fine job of Onegin and partnered very well whether Summerscales or in Act 2 Fernandes.  The Lensky/Olga pairing of Casalinho /Fernandes is pretty near perfect as they dance so well together - anyone going to Ballet Icons will have a chance to see them dance.  I have to say that their show on Monday was even better than the premier on the Friday before, I think everyone had settled into the roles and it showed. Both performances were lovely but Monday's was really good! I'm no expert on ballet/ballet moves so I can't wax lyrical about this move or that, apologies, I just know what I saw was really good.  Of course the corps de ballet were phenomenal in the flying leaps in Act 1 lead by Lensky/Olga that is one of my favourite scenes in all the ballets I have ever seen and rightly drew huge applause from the audience.  Gremin danced by Dilaghi was very princely as you would expect, and it was a touching scene in Act 3 where Tatiana doesn't want him to leave.  Here's a few pics from Monday's show.

Laurretta & Osiel

image.png.72ef8b335255ebfde7b03cddca87ffa8.pngimage.png.106b96c7cc41deaa6be92f6973beac38.png

Margarita & Antonio (Dilaghi back left of first pic)

image.png.83dd07c423d18622ca87738c743ed513.pngimage.png.e9bcbaa9f9174ebcabd77d00d2945ed7.png

For my second show the cast was as follows:-

Onegin - Jakob Feyferlik

Tatiana - Madison Young

Lensky - Julian MacKay

Olga - Elvina Ibraimova

Gremin - Alexey Dobikov