Fallen arches and ballet

Whiteduvet

Hello

First time posting so please be nice!

DD is 8 and has flat feet. Essentially, her arches are dropped (so when she stands in first, her foot doesn't rise up after her toes and then down again to her heels if that makes sense: it's one straight line): she wears insoles in her normal shoes. This is genetic (from her Dad). She's also got his hypermobility though so is very flexible and when she points her toes it's a really beautiful shape. 

Is anyone able to give me any guidance on what this means for her ballet-wise? My gut is that it's going to make 'proper' ballet training impossible, and that ballet schools wouldn't even look at her, however talented she might be, but I may be wrong?

She loves all dancing, but I want to be able to manage her expectations. Thanks. x

Hello

i am very new to this too, my son has just turned 10. His arches are not perfect, but not completely flat. He has lovely feet when pointed, or prepping for pirouettes etc. He has JHS as well. I understand with girls feet there can be perhaps more issues because of pointe work etc

Since wanting to take his ballet a bit more seriously, I figured feet would be a possible issue 😊, so I got him a dance trained Pilates coach and he has been doing strengthening and flexibility exercises for about six months. The exercises have made a huge improvement to his arch. More importantly though his ankle strength and his awareness to pull up through his ankles in order to improve the overall look and shape of his feet has been nothing short of amazing. I didn't know that toes could be so strong, flexible and beautiful. 

Going forward i have no idea if his not perfect ballet feet will matter if he is a beautiful little dancer, which he is. Will his musicality and grace be enough to carry him into the professional world of classical ballet, I don't know.