Another controversial photo from Dance Direct....

dancerbabe82

Hi everyone - I wondered what everyone thinks of the photo Dance Direct have put on their FB page today!

Personally, I think it's good to show that a famous professional ballet dancer looks strong and athletic, but it appears that others aren't too sure!

It's here: https://www.facebook.com/?ref=tn_tnmn#!/photo.php?fbid=10150964635150827&set=a.260130305826.141671.122638350826&type=1&theater

I saw this too. Doesn't really fit with my idea of a ballerina but how much do the tights conceal? Maybe I have the wrong idea!

DD's legs always look better in her tights - not that they look this picture!

• Like 1

I think tights do conceal a certain amount of muscle tone, but they wouldn't be able to conceal the size of the muscles. I'm a ballet novice, but from what the dance physio has been telling dd, I didn't think that the quads were supposed to be that developed in ballerinas? Isn't it more about long, lean muscles and using the inner thighs for resistance?

• Like 1

I can't make out whether she's really sitting into her hyper extension or whether her legs are so muscular that they don't look straight anymore! Not that I'm criticising Miss Copeland! She's an absolute heroine to lots of people, isn't she?

I've been looking at more pictures of her on google/images and she certainly looks smoother in tights.

In this picture she is pushing back on her knees which might be a contributing factor to how the calf muscle developed. Genetics could also be a factor (for all of us).

As for the thigh muscles - I've seen many a ballerina undressed backstage in the dressingroom and seldom have seen this type of development. But, we are all different.