Swan Lake Moscow City Ballet

I saw Swan Lake in Birmingham tonight performed by the MCB. I am not a ballet expert, having only recently got into it through my 8 year old daughter. We have so far only seen ballets performed by BRB, so that's my benchmark (not a bad one, I suspect).

1. The orchestra was appalling. Out of time, ropey, out of tune. The flute fluffed up so many entries. The music was played in quite a flat way. Some of the tremendous climaxes where completely wasted.

2. The dancers' entries were almost all out of time, possibly because the orchestra didn't settle into the tempi, but also just bad timing from the dancers.

3. The troupe seemed tired, lacklustre and at times bored. Hardly any smiles.

4. Odette was clearly talented, but so skinny I was put off by it. A skeleton covered with skin. The only bulge was on her calf muscles. 

5. Some of the corps were clearly not up to it. They seemed to not know the steps and be copying others. Something I have only ever seen in my daughter's end of term ballet recitals.

6. Too many wobbly arabesques, poor landings and general missteps. 

7. Someone was speaking very loudly in the wings in Russian. It rather spoilt the Prince and Odette's pas de deux. Also happened in the overture. It was in Symphony Hall, not normally a theatre, so may well be OK in the wings normally, but not here.

What I did like:

Costumes were fab. Choreography was really effective. Some amazing moments from Odette and the Prince.

Overall pretty disappointing, but then again, I was in a way just pleased to get out and see something that wasn't cancelled.

• Like 1