Is it ok to miss associate classes for festivals??

Lema

I'm new to the world of ballet and this year my daughter has been offered a place at Royal Ballet JA's and 2 other monthly ran associate classes, but we have already committed to some festivals in September and paid entry fees, costumes etc, and 3 of the dates clash, so my question is...is it ok for us to not go to the associate classes on these dates, obviously we will let the teachers know ASAP but I wasn't sure if it's acceptable?? Thanks for any advice you can offer :)

Gosh,I`m not sure,Lema. My understanding of the Associates schemes [especially the RBS ones] is that a lot of commitment is required on the part of the young person. I might be completely wrong,but I cannot imagine them being too impressed with wanting to take time off just to appear in a festival. Anyone? There are plenty of parents on here who have children who are Associates who will gladly correct me if i`m wrong.

• Like 2

Yep I think Royal would frown on it I'm afraid! Maybe 1 session would be ok but not 3 in a class space of time!

I would ring them and discuss with them though. They might say do them this time as you've committed but not future ones...I'm not sure though!!

• Like 1

Thank you for your replies, I've had the welcome pack off RBS and in there it says if you are going to be absent you must email your teacher direct, but maybe it would be best to give them a call, I feel a bit stuck as I don't want to let our regular school down as we have troupes entered with my daughter in, but also don't want to miss JA classes! I was under the impression that classes would be on Saturdays but they are about half and half Saturdays and Sundays and that's what's left me in a pickle!