Hi

This is my first time here so I don’t know if i posted it to the right place. 

I have a solo to the song called blackbird by Sarah McLachlan and it is a very simple but nice dance that I have perfected it technically and want to add an emotional element to the dance.  I can’t find a story or meaning  and I am struggling to put in motion and at the moment I am just doing a slight smile. Do you give any suggestions for Story I can base it to.

Thankyou so much :)

link to song:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=g3VrggQW7tk

Edited by Ian Macmillan
Font size!

3 hours ago, Aixsta said:

I can’t find a story or meaning 

Hi Aixsta, and welcome !

Would it help to think more about the lyrics?

"Blackbird singing in the dead of night
Take these broken wings and learn to fly
All your life
You were only waiting for this moment to arise.

Blackbird singing in the dead of night
Take these sunken eyes and learn to see
All your life
You were only waiting for this moment to be free.

Blackbird fly blackbird fly
Into the light of the dark black night"

Perhaps there are ideas there about about pain, restriction, darkness and blindness, being transformed through music and dance into joy, flight, freedom, light and sight?

Edited by Richard LH
  • Like 5

I don’t know how old you are, Aixsta, but just thinking in terms of sad and happy ( smile or no smile) is fairly bland  and won’t necessarily bring maturity to the piece. Sadness and happiness are made up of many emotions, so by researching what these actually are and what they mean to you personally, and through the words and music, will bring a  greater depth and emotion.

Goid Luck.

Blackbird was written by Paul McCartney as a paean to the US Civil Rights movement: