Can someone tell me the best way to sew on ribbons?

Confuddled

I have to sew ribbons (and criss cross elastics) on to a pair of shoes for dd, but I’ve never done ribbons before. I’m OK on the elastics, but I’m not sure where to sew the ribbons, how long to make them, what do to about fraying ends etc. Is there a good YouTube video someone could recommend? I don’t trust my own random googling to find one that’s actually right - I’ve seen some ballet bun YouTube tutorials that were definitely not what our dance school expects.

Is it for flat shoes or pointe shoes?

With flat shoes if you fold the back down then you sew the ribbons on just next to where the back of the shoe stops. Not sure I’ve described that very well!

I usually use a lighter to singe the ends of the ribbons so they don’t fray. Leave the ribbons quite long and cut them once they’re sewn on so you can see how long you want them. You’ll need to leave enough ribbon at the end to tuck them in once you’ve knotted them on the inside of the ankle.

Hope this helps!

• Like 1

Hiya

it depends on whether it’s Ballet shoe ribbons or pointe shoe ribbons!!! I’m assuming you mean Ballet shoe otherwise you would of said Pointe!

If Ballet - I cut the ribbon into 4 equal lengths and then sew on. Put on shoe, tie it correctly, trim ribbon to length and then use a lighter to burn ends to stop fraying. 

Ive just googled ‘how to see on ribbons on ballet shoes’ and a thread came up! Have a look. 

If pointe shoes there’s different ways of doing it so maybe ask her teacher for which way she prefers (plus you should check with the teacher first on fit of shoe before sewing anything on the shoe incase the teacher isn’t happy with the shoes!)

Hope that helps. Happy seeing xx

Edited by Dancing unicorn
  • Like 2

Thank you all! Yes, it is ballet shoes, not pointe. I had done a search on here but I obviously didn’t do it very well! I will have a look a that video. And buy a lighter (or would a match do as well?).