private lessons for children at vocational school

tutoo2much

I was really suprised to read children at voactional schools have private lessons. Would be interested to hear if this is common practice and whether it is to make up for deficiencies in the teaching or the child? Who decides this is necessary?

I'm no expert, but I suspect people won't like to admit that they're doing this, or have done this, apart from the very few on this forum who have mentioned it. I would guess that most of the schools will have policies that don't allow extra private lessons outside their establishment, unless with their permission... And do the schools give permission? I'd be surprised. But I'd be happy to be proved wrong.

I don't suppose that they do give permission because the request itself effectively amounts to a criticism of the school's training and, IMO, rightly so. What is the point of the DC going away to school, with everything that this entails, if the parents have to pay out yet more money for additional lessons outside school? (I feel the same about parents hiring private tutors for their privately educated children). I suspect that the parents don't tell the school and arrange the lessons in the holidays or at other times when the DC is away from the school.

I haven't had cause to do this myself yet - but I don't really see why a vocational student having one to ones to address a specific issue is any different to a non-vocational student doing this? Yes, the regular classes a vocational student has are of a high standard, and yes, they are often more frequent than a local studio schedule, but the teacher still can't spend large portions of their time being hands-on with one particular student. That is sometimes what is needed! Also, the school holidays for vocational students are long. I would definitely think of scheduling some privates during holidays just to keep her dancing.

• Like 1