Is honesty really the best policy?

Dizzy dancer

I am new to this but am seeking advise. My DD is currently at vocational school but would like to audition for a different school. DD is on the MDS so I would hate for her to risk losing it. So, my questions are;

1. Should I let her do this? (She got a no last time and was incredibly upset).

2. Do we tell her current school she is auditioning elsewhere?

3. Will this affect her MDS?

• Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi there

I know for a fact that students already attending vocational school audition for other schools every year. It won't affect your MDS but I would say it is only courteous that you inform the current school that your child is planning on attending an audition-the school will soon find out anyway as the ballet world is so small! They may want to know why your child is auditioning elsewhere-a good answer is simply that it is for audition practise..long gap between year 7 and 11! I was once told that an audition is never a waste of time-you can always learn something. You need to do what you feel is best for your own child at the end of the day:) Best of luck!

• Like 4

I think this is a really tough call. Ideally, I would want to tell DDs current school if I were in that position because I don't like underhand activity and often think that stories created to cover where DD had gone in audition day may come back to bite later. However, I am also aware of dancing children who feel that their school's attitude towards them changed when they knew they were auditioning elsewhere.

I think you and your DD have to weigh up how telling school/friends feels versus keeping it quiet and your decision about what's best is yours, not what any others have done before. I do think it's good to hear what others have done and what reactions they had, though. Good luck!