Royal ballet school new artistic director?

mart

• Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

• alison changed the title to Royal ballet school new artistic director?

First: the position will no doubt be openly advertised for and I have no knowledge/connections/axe to grind)

Someone with a CV like Lisa Pavane would seem to me to have much to offer: https://www.royalacademyofdance.org/people/lisa-pavane/

(If she were interested or available. ABS are seeking a new Artistic Director: https://danceeurope.net/auditions/)

Regardless, let's wish the departing RBS AD success in his next engagements. 

Edited by Balletdoodah
  • Like 2

I notice from the link @Balletdoodah posted that both Australian Ballet School and Canada's National Ballet School are looking for new artistic directors, as well as the Royal Ballet School.

That's three very plum posts with the potential to affect the next 20 or 30 years of professional ballet dancers, depending on the eventual duration of tenure.

Won't it be interesting to see who gets the jobs!

• Like 7

I think Laura Morera (RBS trained) and Zenaida Yanowsky (comes from a family of dancers and dance teachers- parents opened a dance school, she and her two siblings got jobs in 3 different countries, 2 continents, she has children) are excellent candidates- both have wonderful interpersonal qualities and a deep understanding of setbacks and difficulties students, parents and dancers face, plus have themselves attained the status of principals and know well what it really takes to get to the top. I don't know if either if them want the job or have applied, but both would be brilliant and either one would make a fantastic school director. 

• Like 5

Assuming that the AD is in effect the headteacher of a boarding school, the person chosen will be in loco parentis and their  commitment to this aspect of the role should be a major consideration for the selection board.

• Like 2