Any tips on being 'lighter' and jumping higher?

Confuddled

So my daughter (8yo) has been told by her ballet teacher she needs to be 'lighter' and jump higher. I'm assuming this means landing without sounding like a baby elephant, while also going higher. She's finding it very difficult to know how to practice this, as she's been told to do over the summer. Are there any top tips, or YouTube videos she could watch to help her? I can't see that just practising without knowing what she's currently doing wrong will help...

There is no possibility she won't practise over the summer, she's completely dancing obsessed plus she's got a week of summer school, so I'd rather she was doing something that would actually help rather than ingraining bad habits.

I’m no expert to be honest, but in layperson’s terms, I believe lighter landing is achieved by landing ‘through the foot’. That is, the whole foot doesn’t hit the floor at once, more kind of toes first then ‘rolling’ through the rest of the foot. I wold have thought jumping higher is all about practise and building up the muscles and flexibility. Just springing vertically on the spot 50 times a day would be a good start. Try recording her now and then again in 6 weeks so she can (hopefully!) see the improvement that practise delivers. Also, splits - all 3 ways. 

In my personal experience, what's helped my jumps:

- weight placement and landing in a balanced body position (e.g. if you lose the neutral pelvis and stick the bum out, you've lost it before you started. In general you should have shoulder over hips over knees over toes but obviously also dependent on what type of jump it is)

- resistance in the legs. Brace the landing by resistance against gravity in the glutes thighs and calves. This requires strength, and you can start thinking of them all the way through class starting from pliés. Resist down rather than let gravity take you down.