Osgood schlatter- help!!!

Gowiththeflo

We think dd may be suffering from this- her knee (well, just below) came up on New years day, with no obvious cause of trauma, went to a walk in centre and the nurse suggested it was Osgood schlatter. She also said 'a bit of dance' might be good to help disperse the fluid, and to keep up pain relief and ice packs.

Just wondering if any of you fountains of knowledge have any experience/advice for my dd- she's 11.

Also, to further compound things, she dances with 2 teams, which are dancing at the finals of a competion in blackpool this weekend. - obviously she's worried she won't be able to, and is very upset.

Oh , and then there's mids auditions on jan 20th too.........

????

I know you don't like to give health advice, but you're such a knowledgable lot, hopefully someone else has gone through this.

Thanks, ????

I'm no expert in this kind of thing, but as I understand it, Osgood Schlatters is essentially an overuse injury, and as such, requires a period of rest unfortunately, especially from high impact activities such as running and jumping. I know your DD will feel dreadful about letting her team down, but if she pushes on through pain she may well end up being out of action for longer in the end.

I would definitely second Jane's advice above though. If you can't access a specific dance physio I would imagine that someone who deals with young sports people would be the next best bet as this is not an uncommon condition in young athletes.

I hope she gets better soon.

• Like 1