Difference between jazz, contemporary and modern?

Lemongirl

Here s my take on it - Modern is "modern theater dance " jazz has a more rythmical element and contemporary is usuall more lyrical and seems to have more emotional expression and for want of a better description throwing yourself on the floor ..... But there are overlaps between all these , and different genres and styles of each - hope that helps you !

• Like 2

Jazz would be most fun (I think)

Modern would be quite mixed - several styles (I think)

Contemporary would be most use if she is planning on a career in classical

But tbh I am not an expert at all.....I'm only 2 yrs into this game and the learning curve is steep and hard to climb (forum like this make it easier)

My DDs did modern jazz alongside their ballet. For many years I assumed this was the 'modern' that other people talked about but when I looked at the ISTD and IDTA syllabus I realised that it was indeed jazz my DDs danced.

Both DDs thoroughly enjoy jazz and feel it complements the ballet. Their teacher chose jazz for its rhythms, timings and performance aspects. Elder DD felt her jazz left her well placed at 6th form auditions and into 6th form itself as elements from jazz overlap into contemporary, meaning she was comfortable with jazz and contemporary parts of the audition as well as ballet.

I think your DD would find jazz easy to pick up and would complement her ballet but I imagine to be honest that the same could be said for any of the styles she has a choice from.

• Like 1

Our teacher always said "Jazz uses the skills taught in modern in a fun and more free way. 

Contemporary has many spectrums - it can be lyrical but the other end of the spectrum is very different using weight / control / relaxation.

Probably best ot look on You Tube.

It depends what you daughter is hoping to do with her training - I would suggest contemporary is the way to go but it very much depends on your daughters age and skill set at the moment.