Improving prospects for dance school at 16+

AmandaBallet

Hello all, newbie here! My 11 year old has moved dance schools and we've suddenly become aware of the world of associates, vocational schools etc...She loves to dance and has said for a while that's what she'd like to do but with no dance background I had no idea until now of this whole world of extras (her previous dance school didn't seem to have any interest other than exams). Reading all the posts here it feels a little bit like we're already too late by not having been involved in anything other than regular lessons. Having totally missed the boat for lower school, my question is about whether it's possible/likely to get a place at dance school at 16+ just from regular lessons or what I should be looking for her to do to improve her prospects should that dance dream remain with her? It doesn't seem like there's a huge range of options locally (south Wales) aside from regular classes but would be prepared to travel potentially once a month if there were any recommendations of things she could do. I'll speak to her new teacher once she's been able to see her in person instead of just online (!) but wanted to get some ideas as it feels like I need to look into this more for her before more time ebbs away! Thanks for any help/guidance from anyone. 

Edited by AmandaBallet
  • Like 3

1 minute ago, AmandaBallet said: