TabbyCool

I have a ballet show coming up soon and I get to wear a sparkly crown, however, it weighs around 230g and I’m not entirely sure how to attach it to my head! It has 4 little metal loops underneath and was supplied with 4 bobby pins (ha!), I’m thinking of threading elastic or wires through the loops, criss-crossing in the middle to give me more to attach pins to, but I’m still not sure how to get it to stay put securely enough to withstand chaine turns, releves and a fair few pas de chat! Has anyone else had to do something similar? Any advice will be most appreciated!

5 hours ago, Emilie said:

Could you do a crown braid around the top of your head so the crown has something to sit snugly on?

I was thinking something along those lines, with wires threaded through the braids, but I have to do it myself and I’m not very good at these things! 

• Like 1

9 hours ago, junedancer said:

Would there be anyway to attach elastic to it? You could then either have it under you chin or take it to the back behind your ears.  If you can’t get a flesh colour you can use makeup to hide it as best you can.

I could attach elastic to it, but I don’t think it’d really help much, even party hats don’t stay on if I put the elastic behind my head, and it’d be really obvious under the chin and would still fall off, it’s too heavy to be held on like that, it’s going to have to be secured to my hair somehow, but my hair isn’t good at behaving!

• Like 1

It’s a shame it’s so heavy. Perhaps you can practice anchoring it and trying to dance with it on and see what happens. I know what you mean about completing a look. My eldest dd had a beautiful winter coat with Russian “fur” trim on the wrists and a tiny muff. She looked adorable in it (she was two) and I desperately wanted a Russian hat to complete the look. Both of her godmothers trawled the more expensive shops in London and came up empty. It was so good of them and we were all disappointed.

4 minutes ago, Fiz said: