Anyone attend the Ballet Assoc evening with Osipova ?

It was one of those occasions when the services of someone who came along to act as an interpreter provided those that attended with edited highlights of the guest's responses rather than a word for word translation.As reports of the meetings are sent to the interviewee for approval before they are published it is quite possible that the published report will tell us more than the interview did.

That will presumably depend on whether someone translates what Osipova said, or types down the intepreter's words. Do you speak Russian then, FLOSS? I have a feeling there is quite a large ... contraction factor, shall we call it? between Russian and English.

Unfortunately I don't speak Russian. But I recognised several borrowed words that did not find their way into the translation.

I have extensive experience of working with interpreters across a wide range of languages in a job where it is essential that you have a verbatim translation.You know after a minute or so of testimony whether you are being given a witness's own account in their own words or whether you are getting edited highlights.In real life it is as obvious as it is in the cinema with a subtitled foreign language film when a long section of animated dialogue is translated by one word.