Pressure en pointe

balletmania

I'm a pre-pro student and have been dancing en pointe for years. Previously, my Freed of London Classic Pros have always served me well; however, recently I've noticed that I've been experiencing enormous amounts of pressure to the point of not being able to go en pointe towards the middle of the day. The pressure is usually on my big toe but since my second toe is the longest, it also experiences quite a bit of pain.

I doubt it's a fitting issue as the shoe seems to be more or less the right shape and size and make my feet look nice. I use gel pointe shoes, toe caps on my big toes, and more recently 2nd skin gel squares. I suspect the problem might be sinking but don't know which dancewear stores in my area actually have quality fitters to help me get the issue checked out.

What could be the problem and what can I do to fix it?

Here are the options I'm considering: getting fitted for new shoes (and beginning the long, arduous, and expensive process of shoe searching once again...), trying perfectfit toe pads, or adding some other form of padding.

I would appreciate any form of help! Thank you so much in advance :)

Thanks all for the responses! To answer your questions:

- I'm in the Chicagoland area

- Yes, I'm considering PerfectFit shoe inserts :) Just dragging my feet since they're quite expensive haha

- Yes, sadly my second toe is longer than my big toe.

Edited by balletmania

On 02/10/2023 at 01:52, balletmania said:

Thanks all for the responses! To answer your questions:

- I'm in the Chicagoland area

- Yes, I'm considering PerfectFit shoe inserts :) Just dragging my feet since they're quite expensive haha

- Yes, sadly my second toe is longer than my big toe.

They're worth it - they last for quite a while. Made a huge difference to my daughter.

On 02/10/2023 at 01:52, balletmania said:

Just dragging my feet since they're quite expensive haha

Good grief just looked at the price.