Dance teacher self employment

Bluebird22

Just after a few pointers regarding self employment as a dance teacher

I'm unsure whether certain things are standard for self employed people. HMRC talk only in terms of standard businesses and I struggle to find the dance teacher equivalent

-Purchasing of set uniform

-Amount of notice for holidays?

-Amount of holidays allowed?

-Unbillable hours for admin jobs

-Payment method determined by the school not the teacher

-Hours of work cancelled (no payment) when the teacher has turned up to teach

I've yet to find the perks in self employment, seems like a huge headache!

I've got some experience in this area.

My husband has worked both as an employed and self employed singing teacher.  As a school owner I have contracted self employed drama, singing and dance teachers and I currently work in the construction industry for a firm who used both employed labour and self employed sub-contractors.

As a self employed person you and the contractor (dance school) make a contract for services (this can be verbal but its better in writing).  This should lay down payment terms (monthly invoice etc) As a contractor I have always decided payment method both for the theatre school (bank transfer) and for the construction firm (cheque).  You can negotiate payment terms but its up to the person/school contracting you as to whether they choose to engage you on those terms.

I'm not sure what you mean by purchasing set uniform.  In the construction industry a self employed subbie is responsible for supplying their own workwear & Protective Personal equipment. The dance equivalent would be you supply your own dance shoes/dance wear.