Hello All,

Just wondering what the perspective of forum members is on adult recreational dancers attending ballet summer schools/intensives? Is it advisable or would I be better off just spending the money on extra classes or privates?

Also I would be extremely grateful if you would kindly share what your experience of such intensives has been if you’ve attended one please.

I started ballet as an absolute beginner 4 years ago so am still relatively new. I take 3-4 classes a week and am preparing for RAD Grade 6. I have some annual leave to take in the summer and thought an intensive might be useful. I’m not bothered about learning lots of choreography or variations, I’d just like to improve my basic technique. 

Any insight would be very gratefully received. Thank you. 

Sander Blommaert had some adult students attending his summer school last year... Don't know too much about it, only that there were 2 female adult students and one male in my son's classes (class of approx 30). The 'children' were mostly pre-pro level, mostly 16+ apart from a couple, so all pretty mature. DS got a lot from the SI - lots of good technique work and found it challenging in a good way. Sander and the team were all lovely.  

• Like 1

I enjoyed London Ballet Classes summer intensive last year, the Ballet Retreat is popular, and there are a few others aimed at adult dancers around your level - I’m blanking on names at the moment.

It’s good to get classes from other teachers and with other students, especially if you’re a bit isolated out in the sticks.

Different corrections and stuff you wouldn’t cover in the normal run of things - mime, acting, rep, choreography, PDD and so on.

Posted (edited)

The Chelsea Ballet Summer School is excellent which is held at Central School of Ballet ( near Blackfriars station) from 12th August until 17th August. 
All the teachers were originally trained at the Royal Ballet School and have danced professionally with the Royal or ENB.