Just back from this evening’s performance of the new Pam Tanowitz double bill (which also has a film).

I’m totally new to her work, but am aware she’s had success in America. Her style is definitely rooted in Merce Cunningham’s technique, but possesses a quirky humour. It took some warming up to, and some dancers seemed a bit uncomfortable in this aesthetic. That being said the cast - made up of mostly young corps de ballet dancers - threw themselves into the work as best they could.

The premiere work ‘Secret Things’ has some interesting elements, but is overall rather forgettable. ‘Everybody Keeps Me’, which is being revived for the first time, resonated much more both emotionally and choreographically. If Merce had his way with a Robbins ballet; that was the impression I got from this piece.  Taisuke Nakao in the latter ballet had great command in manning an unenviably long solo. 

There was also a short screening of the ‘Dispatch Duet’, which featured at the recent anniversary gala. Ironically, this was the strongest piece choreographically in my eyes, a shame they couldn’t bring it to the Linbury.

• Like 7
  • Thanks 5

17 hours ago, LACAD said:

Just back from this evening’s performance of the new Pam Tanowitz double bill (which also has a film).

I’m totally new to her work, but am aware she’s had success in America. Her style is definitely rooted in Merce Cunningham’s technique, but possesses a quirky humour. It took some warming up to, and some dancers seemed a bit uncomfortable in this aesthetic. That being said the cast - made up of mostly young corps de ballet dancers - threw themselves into the work as best they could.