Ballet Instructors for Disabled People - UK (London)

chesl

Hi everyone! This is my first post on the forum - I'm a 20 year old in London with minimal previous experience in ballet (would probably need to start from absolute beginner's classes again) and I was hoping to get back into it, but I've been discouraged from learning ballet due to my disability, which leaves me with poor balance, a lack of leg control and muscle strength, and I can't point my toes on one foot properly. 

From the stuff I've read online, I feel like if I work hard enough I can overcome these limitations, I just need a bit more time - but my previous teacher wasn't really patient with my lack of progress in classes and so ended up ignoring me entirely (which makes sense, seeing as I was weighing down the rest of the class). Preferably I'd like a teacher who has experience working with disabled students, or someone who would be open to doing 1 on 1 lessons? The places I've looked so far only have group classes (including the disabled dance troupes/projects etc), so I thought I'd ask here in case anyone could point me in the right direction of where to look next. 

Thanks! 😊

• Jan McNulty changed the title to Ballet Instructors for Disabled People - UK (London)

I will have think of teachers I know in your area, pity you aren’t closer to the Midlands, I have a bit of experience with disabled dancers, including amputees. Dance is for everyone, it just requires some creativity and courage! 

• Like 3

40 minutes ago, Bluebird22 said:

I will have think of teachers I know in your area, pity you aren’t closer to the Midlands, I have a bit of experience with disabled dancers, including amputees. Dance is for everyone, it just requires some creativity and courage! 

Thank you so much! Ah, it's a shame I'm not in the Midlands at all, your work sounds really interesting 😃

Not sure if this will be of any help but it may be worth a look. https://www.onedanceuk.org/