Beginning Ballet - Late Teens

Moomintroll

Hello! 

I am 15 and I would like to start doing ballet, however I am quite overweight (which I am currently fixing) and as a result of sports I also have some (quite bulky) muscle, I'm also quite short, so no ballet body unforunately. 

I have had some experience with ballet, I danced until the age of 7 but then quit (as quite of lot of people do) 

Despite this I would love to eventually be able to go en pointe and maybe even take part in competitions, I don't want to be professional. 

So my main questions are, will I be able to keep up? Will I ever be able to compete? And does anyone have any advice?

Many Thanks!(^-^)

• Like 1

Will  you be able to  keep up ? keep up with  what  ?  you  sound as though you have a reasonable level of fitness, you have some  knowledge ( and  probably muscle memory) from previous experience  ... 

15 is a slightly  funny  age  thanks to the  wonderful world of safeguarding , so you may have to shop around a bit to find a  dance school that  fits  ( rather than putting you  back to where you left off  with the  pre-teens that will depend on the attitude of the  principal(s)/owner(s) and the other  teachers)  some might say you are too young for 'adult' classes   -  but safeguarding is a sideshow  in this and the site has had enough  arguments on the topic  as it is  -so it;s just really to  point out it might  be an issue). 

The world is moving  on from the balanchine body  a bit,  and as you have  no desire for a pro classical ballet career it again is a bit of a sideshow, regardlessof presentation I don;t have a 'ballet body'  although with  some serious work in the gym i could probably get an approximation of one ...