Elmhurst vs Tring academics

Happymum

Hi, I wonder what is your opinion/experience.

Which of the 2 schools offers wider choice of GCSE and A levels, more prep time, better teachers, facilities efc etc. of course both schools are great and it is mostly down to child's hard work etc etc But if for any reason DC won't/can't continue with dancing and wants to go to a good university which school might prepare for it better?

I can only tell you about Tring as I have no personal experience of Elmhurst.

My DS is currently in year 11 at Tring. He is preparing for 9 GCSEs (quite a few of these are iGCSEs). The range was quite varied when he chose, obviously there are the core subjects but he was able to choose 3 sciences and looking at the GCSE score this year, they do very well in the sciences. In fact the academics are pretty impressive (all there for the taking, down to the child). I have found the academic teachers to be very pasionate about their subjects, very approachable and keen to give extension work to more able pupils. Class sizes in all subjects are small with streaming for English, maths, French. Some classes have as few as 5 students!

The A'level selection is also very varied, I think the only vocational school that offers all 3 sciences at A'level. Plus the usual subjects of English, maths, French, history, art photography and quite a few more besides.

There are lots of examples of pupils going on to 'top' universities and going on to study heavily academic subjects such as medicine and law.

Our experience was at Elmhurst and although I was more than happy with the academic teaching, I think I can safely say that Tring offer more exams and more range of subjects at both levels. However our decision on where to apply was entirely been on where my ds saw himself training. In all honesty, and I may be in the minority here, we weren't interested in A levels.

• Like 2