Spring Celebration; a celebration of British Ballet Training

Yes, I was their. The evening was wonderful - each school, in its own different way, proved what a huge amount of talent we have in the young people who are there. The programme consisted of each school dancing two pieces with a final piece involving all the dancers.

I don't propose to "mark" the schools as I am not technically competent so to do but I can give a lay persons opinion. The four schools were Central School for Ballet, Elmhurst, ENB and the RB.

Central - Each of their pieces were contemporary in nature and, for me, the most difficult as I am not a huge fan of both abstract dance and music. The first was called Four, choreographed by Chris. Hampson and reflected four hands playing a piano ( so the programme tells me ) and the second was Morning and Moonlight using music by Britten, choreographed by Chris Bruce and showed elements of a seascape.

Elmhurst - Again contemporary but much easier to understand. The first was Orpheus Suite and set to music by Duke Ellington involving 10 boys rocking and rolling around the stage, great fun - part two was Second Detail by William Forsythe with three girls. Their second piece was called Transito and was a boy, Joshua Lee in the programme, and two girls dancing flamenco to a man playing the guitar and a lady clapping along. The boy was brilliant.

ENB - First piece was Trice, to music by Stravinsky, created by George Williamson beautifully danced  by one girl and two boys and the second piece was Allegro set to Mozarts Concerto No. 22 and wonderfully danced by the schools first year students.