Junior associates worth it for newly 8 yr old?

Lovelyjubbly

Hello all. First post here but I’ve been reading a while. I have a daughter who is very into ballet and takes it seriously. She will be newly 8 (July birthday) by the time associates start in the autumn. Do you think junior associates are worth it for this age or is better to wait? I am a complete novice and know nothing about ballet myself, but 2 yrs ago she fell in love with it and hasn’t stopped. Right now she is doing two hours a week of classes and conditioning plus one hour of rehearsals for their show, so 3 full hours and she would do more if I would let her. I don’t want to hold her back, but also wonder how many are newly 8 (vs 8 turning 9) as she would still be 7 yrs old for auditions. Don’t know if that would put her at a disadvantage. 

I would say it depends entirely on your child’s personality. If she has the qualities they’re looking for, they will also be watching her carefully in the audition to check she can concentrate for a sustained period of time and that she has the maturity to benefit from the type of in depth training JAs provides. The detailed discussion of movement quality and perfecting exercises which work tiny muscle groups (for example) would not interest or inspire every 8 year-old! I would strongly recommend signing up for one of the insight classes to establish whether the style of class suits her. The audition itself is a lovely experience with a live pianist and wonderful teachers so if she’s keen, I’d say go for it and see what happens. The chances of being accepted are tiny so she’ll need to be prepared for potential rejection regardless of her age.