Honest market research/feedback from parents and teachers sought!

drdance

Hi everyone,

I hope you are all well. I'm looking for some help from parents and teachers regarding the current state of the dance training options for students aged 10+.

A little bit of background info:

In 2009 I finished a PhD which had a specific focus and found that professional ballet dancers did not have the fitness levels required for the demands of performance, and that technique class and rehearsal were not sufficient to train the elements of fitness needed. Therefore dancers were suffering, or at greater risk of fatigue-related injuries and illnesses. This was the first full PhD to publish a lot of data on this topic and I like to think that it has played a part in real change in how dancers are trained world over the last 10 years. 

However, my personal interest isn't in professional dancers, it is in training children and adolescents safely and effectively. Therefore, I set up MIDAS in 2011 to provide monthly additional training, with an emphasis on safe dance practice, and equal balance between technique, artistry and fitness. At the time there were very few options for students to take supplementary classes and what did exist in the Midlands were limited to RBS associates, and Elmhurst (which only had juniors at the time). 

Fast-forward 10 years and the world is very different! COVID has affected all our lives, and in recent years there's been an explosion of 'associate' / additional training schemes from anywhere and everywhere. I also feel like a lot of young dancers and dance teachers are more aware of the need of additional fitness training. Is there still a need/call for what we offered MIDAS?