Can anyone offer some help to a complete novice please? 

I am looking to book seats at the Royal Albert hall but have found the options very confusing. Can anyone explain the differences I the areas, what is the loggia, raising circle grand circle etc. Can anyone recommend where is the best place to sit to watch a ballet? Generally when I go to the theatre I prefer not to be too far forward, don't want to feel like I'm looking up at the dancers feet, but I have no idea what would be considered a good seat/ good view for watching ballet. TIA

Hello, Bex does ballet, and welcome to the forum.  I've added a "Royal Albert Hall" tag to your post: if you click on it, you'll find other discussions relating to the RAH which may be of help, although they mostly relate to English National Ballet's "in the round" performances - I'm assuming you're asking because of BRB's Nutcracker?  (You might be best reading the thread about Carlos Acosta's farewell, which did at least use a stage layout).

Anyway, the areas you mention are the various tiers of the hall: the loggia boxes are just behind the raised side stalls seats (i.e. the seats not in the flat central section), and the other two, whatever they are called, are the tiers above them, I think.  I keep losing track of what everything's being called because it seems to change from time to time!  I think it's last century since I actually sat there and watched a normal stage performance, so I'm not best placed to advise.  You need to be aware that all the boxes have movable chairs or bar-stool-like seats, and that if you aren't allocated the seats in the front row you may suffer slightly, depending on which box you're in.  The seats in the side stalls swivel so that you can adjust your position relative to the stage: I'm not sure if the ones in the centre do as well.  I think I'd probably be most tempted by the seats towards the back of the side stalls, or the loggia boxes, but wait and see what others with more experience say.