Is it possible to photograph rehearsals?

I'm a hobbyist photographer and I would love to be able to photograph a rehearsal of ballet dancers.  Even exercises would be good.

I'm interested in capturing movement, here is an image I took to get an idea of what I mean https://www.instagram.com/p/BgXbSjmheU3/?taken-by=_photomaton.

Is there anywhere in London where I would be able to get permission to watch and photograph a rehearsal?

Thank you.

subject to you have the relevant insurances and  acceptable terms over the IP,  I suspect that  there are plenty of adult  recreational  classes  who would  appreciate the offer, especially  if you  offered  the teacher / school  the ability to use the pictures in publicity material . 

• Like 1

Hello movphoto and welcome to the Forum!

I think Nicola has given some good advice there.  I suspect some schools may also require a DBS check.

As far as professional companies are concerned, I think you probably have to gain accreditation through their media office and that would include information on how you would use the photographs (or how the company would expect them to be used).  

Some years ago a professional photographer gave a half day workshop at The Lowry which I treated my niece to.  The photographer brought a few local dancers with him to use as subjects.  It may be worth seeing if there is anything similar running in your area.

• Like 1

re DBS  and  permissions / safeguarding etc etc  - that's why i said adult recreational classes , although  well run  all ages schools  will know  the rigamarole with  photos and videos of their  child / YP   students 

• Like 1