Too late to be a ballet dance teacher?

Tanyar123

Hi everyone, thank you for reading my post.

First of all, I want to say I am 23 and I have decided I want to become a ballet dance teacher but I don't know if it is too late for me.

I have a BTEC in dance.University is out of the option. I have some experience with ballet but my technique is not great. I was wondering if there is some sort of qualification that can help me to become a qualified dance teacher. Also, I would love to teach contemporary and street.

Any advise for me please?

Thanks

To train as a ballet teacher you would need to reach Intermediate Level with one of the dance exam boards then undertake their teacher training programme.

Intermediate requires a high level if technique. It is achievable for even a late starter but you are talking several years at least.

A starting point would be to start attending regular classes. Ballet technique is something that can't be rushed, it has to be built up over time.

• Like 1

To train as a ballet teacher you would need to reach Intermediate Level with one of the dance exam boards then undertake their teacher training programme.

Intermediate requires a high level if technique. It is achievable for even a late starter but you are talking several years at least.

A starting point would be to start attending regular classes. Ballet technique is something that can't be rushed, it has to be built up over time.

Hi, thank you for replying to my post. I will have to start attending regular classes but I have another question. I am new to this. How do I take the dance exam once I reach intermediate level? could it be with any dance school? and do I have to tell the dance teacher that I want to take a dance exam. Also, if I take a dance exam, is this enough for me to qualify to be a ballet dance teacher?

The Intermediate exam is the minimum requirement to he accepted onto a teacher training qualification course.