Scottish Ballet's Nutcracker

I know, we've just had Easter and I'm already talking about The Nutcracker! There was a critic who travelled across America (I think it was last year) sampling lots of different Nutcrackers in the Christmas season. That got me thinking that perhaps I might try the same thing this year -subject to finances- in the UK. I would need to travel north to see Scottish Ballet's production. I have some knowledge of Edinburgh but the dates may not suit and so I wondered whether anyone could give me any information about going to see Scottish Ballet in Glasgow (I would need to stay the night).

Aileen: You are almost right, but it was in 2010 - Alastair Macaulay of the New York Times went around the States seeing 'Nutcrackers' of all kinds and standards, and in the ballet.co review archives (entered via the 'Reviews' button on DanceTabs) you'll find some 30 reviews published in roughly one month. My erstwhile colleagues on ballet.co Links will recall these, I'm sure - I certainly do, as I was in my first weeks on the team .... and there was no limit on the NYT articles one could read at that time.

That said, if your plan comes off, we'll look forward to your reviews!

It's some years since I have had an opportunity to go to Glasgow but there were plenty of reasonably priced hotels on Renfrew Street. 5-10 minutes walk from the lovely Theatre Royal, depending on which one you chose.

Also NB are doing their delightful Nutcracker in Leeds in December.

BRB are doing Cinderella this year so no Nutcracker in Birmingham.

I'm disappointed (and surprised) to hear that BRB won't be doing their much praised Nutcracker this year. I've never seen it.

Janet, where did you see details for NB's Nutcracker? I couldn't see it on their website. Also, (don't hate me Glasgow residents!) is it safe walking around the area near the theatre at night? I do live in London and use public transport a lot and so I'm not particularly timid.