Seconde en l'air

swanprincess

I was practicing the positions required for vocational school application photos, and noticed that on my developpe to 2nd, when my left leg is extended above shoulder height, my ribcage juts out to the right, and vice versa. Is this inevitable/ acceptable, or would it be considered a sign of bad technique? Sorry if it makes no sense!!! ;)

Edited for spelling

Edited by swanprincess

I'm no expert, but I would assume that the further above 90 degrees your leg is, the more difficult it would be to keep your centre. If google "developpé à la seconde" and look at the images, you will see that a leg at 90 and just above should be held there by your core strength, keeping your ribcage centred.

Hopefully one of our lovely teachers will explain it much better than I!

What I think my dd's teacher would say is that it is better to have beautiful lines and solid technique with a slightly lower leg than sacrificing technique for extreme leg height. :-)

Edited to add I've just asked my dd and she says to try to stay centred so that you have a line down through your middle from the top of your head, which follows down the inside of your supporting leg (hope that makes sense!) and to make sure you're centred and beautifully turned out before worrying too much about leg height. She says her core strength holds her leg up.

Do the application forms give a sketch of the required positions - and indicate leg height?

As can be seen in x-ray photos in Celia Sparger's "Anatomy and Ballet" any height above 40 degrees to the side starts to move the pelvis off center - it begins to tip. 

This happens for two reasons: one is that the hip joint is formed in such a way that further height is not possible without this allowance.  But it also happens because if one is standing on one leg the weight of the body has to move further away from the lifted leg to maintain balance on that one leg.