Hypermobile Back and Back Cambre

Mae Elizabeth

I naturally have quite a hypermobile/flexible back, and my teachers have pointed this out to me multiple times. Because of this flexibility, when I attempt a back cambre, I tend to arch my lumbar spine and stick out my bottom. When I try to keep my pelvis tucked and only bend my thoracic spine, I feel very restricted and like I can barely move. Does anyone else have this issue or does anyone have any tips or exercises to strengthen my core to resolve this issue?

I'm not an expert, just a dance mum, but perhaps if you try doing it seated e.g. on the floor with legs straight out in front of you  that will stabilise your pelvis and allow just the top half of your back to move. Or on a Swiss ball to practise the pelvic stability needed. 

If you are hypermobile the chances are this is an issue of muscle strength/alignment rather than flexibility of the upper back. 

Bridges could also help you learn to articulate your spine properly and strengthen glutes and pelvic stability.

5 hours ago, Mae Elizabeth said:

I naturally have quite a hypermobile/flexible back

Is the issue here that while your lower spine is flexible, your upper spine is not? It's quite normal to have different levels of flexibility in different bits of our bodies.

I commiserate - I tend to let my pelvis tip into a lumbar arch - I have various prompts I try to remember to help me maintain a neutral pelvis such as thinking of my pelvis being heavy and dropping straight to the floor. Also thinking of lifting my sternum (breast bone) and opening my upper chest, rather than bending my back. Lifting up, rather than bending back.

Hoping ballet teachers here see this and can suggest some proper exercises to help.

• Like 3