Ballet De Catalunya, trainee programme?

JanJas

My 19 year old daughter has just been offered a "trainee II" position as a corps de ballet member of the Ballet de Catalunya company.

We have very little information to base any decisions on!

Is there anyone out there who's had a similar experience with the company who can help us in any way?

Any leads or links would be most welcome and appreciated!

We've been told she has to make a decision in a week's time! 

Thank you so much BarbaraH, your information is much appreciated! 

I did wonder about all the possible negative aspects mentioned in that Facebook post!

You have to be so careful, especially when something sounds so good at first!

What a minefield all this is, especially when there are so few opportunities for graduates.

Thank you Jan too, I'll have a search for those posts.

• Like 1

5 hours ago, BarbaraH said:

I have no personal experience, but I read a recent post on the Facebook Group "Parents of Pre-Professional Ballet Dancers". I'm afraid it wasn't positive news...

image.png.28726d99d18bfce4eca58a459f0bbc36.png

Wow….& am I understanding correctly that dancers (family) are actually paying to be part of this? Or at least the dancers are not being paid a salary or living expenses at least? 

31 minutes ago, Peanut68 said:

Wow….& am I understanding correctly that dancers (family) are actually paying to be part of this? Or at least the dancers are not being paid a salary or living expenses at least? 

I know people have had to fund raise to be able to do it so…