RAD CBTS

EverHopeful

So I started learning ballet for the first time in my mid 20s and have absolutely fallen in love with it. My dream is to study the RAD CBTS with a view to becoming a teacher myself. 

My question is, am I being unrealistic? I’ve so far achieved two very good merits at Grades 4 and 5. But my latest merit (72% at grade 5) has thrown me a bit (actually a lot). If I can’t even get Distinction myself then how can I expect to be accepted to teach others? 

I absolutely have the drive and determination to fight to become the best teacher I possibly can. But sometimes I wonder if I’m kidding myself, if I just started too late. 

The entry requirements on the website say “hold an Intermediate certificate”, which I’m currently working on. Do you think not getting Distinctions in the previous grades will hinder me when I apply for the course? 

Confused! And determined 

xx

I would go for it if you really like the idea of teaching.

To be a good teacher you don't have to achieve a distinction in an exam.

You have to know the syllabus inside out and understand the striving for the very best which you have experienced already and then can help to encourage and bring this out in your pupils.

Every teacher just about is sooner or later is going to be presented with pupils who are more highly talented than themselves and I'm sure you will love helping these students achieve their distinctions!! 

But anyway who knows you are not finished yet a distinction for you may still be on the horizon 😊

• Like 3

I am a Mentor for the CBTS. Absolutely no need for distinctions, after all exam marks are just what an examiner sees on the day. And that merit mark is very good! 

But do take, and pass your intermediate! Much easier than having to submit video footage which you will have to do if you don't. 

In the meantime do as many classes as possible, watch a variety of teachers and also go to performances. 

• Like 7

Thank you all, that has cheered me up a lot 😊