Every year in the first week of September the Dutch National Ballet holds a gala at the Stopera to launch the new ballet season.  It is a very grand affair. Everyone is in evening dress.   Lots of local and some international celebrities attend the event.   With the exception of last year, I have been coming since 2015 and each year has been better than the last.

The evening opens with a grand defile - a parade starting with the first year students of the National Ballet Academy and ending with the company's principals to the strains of Aurora's wedding from The Sleeping Beauty.   This year the orchestra was conducted by our very own Koen Kessels.   The company's artistic director then comes on stage and welcomes the audience partly in Dutch and partly in English.  There are then a number of performances some created especially for the evening and others classics from the company's repertoire.

This year the gala was dedicated to the memory of Rudi van Dantzig and three of his works were danced including his the white and black acts from his Swan Lake.   The Netherlands' other towering fenius, Hans van Manen, was also well represented with the performance of three of his works including his Symphony for the Dutch People which particularly impressed me.   Other full length works that were dipped into were the first Dutch performance of the Flames of Paris and Neumeir's Lady of the Camelias.   Of the shorter works I particularly enjoyed Ernst Meisner's Embers which was danced by Jessica Xuan and Cristiano Principato.  When they danced it at Varna earlier in the year Xuan won the first prize and gold medal for her performance.   I also liked Grimm which was a collaboration between the Junior Company and ISH and combined ballet with hip hop.   Finally, I was glad to see Michaela DePrince back on stage after a very nasty tendon injury.