Studying dance at uni

anondancer_15

I did a degree in dance at uni after previously having graduated from a vocational school and danced professionally.

There are many different pathways you can take afterwards but it mostly depends on what you feel confident to do, which is partly influenced by your experience prior to the course.

Many graduates work freelance, performing in small scale tours, teaching workshops in schools, running youth dance groups, community groups and after school clubs. They build portfolio careers and are often involved in several projects at a time.

Some from my course went on to do a PGCE in dance and became dance teachers in secondary schools teaching GCSE and A level, others did a PGCE in primary teaching and became primary school teachers.

There is also the possibility to further your academic study by continuing with an MA course or going into dance research.

Some graduates set up their own dance schools, especially if they are qualified to teach syllabus classes.

Others I know of teach in further education colleges and a small number work in the field of dance therapy.

When researching the various degree course options, pay attention to graduate destinations which are often listed in the information section. If they're not, ask.

• Like 1