National Youth Ballet

Spacy

Hello everyone. This is my first time posting having spent lots of time reading all your interesting posts. I have a dd who is looking to do more ballet. she is a RB MA. She are looking at auditioning for English Youth Ballet or something similar. could anyone tell me a bit more about the audition procedure, standard of ballet etc. Dd is 12 years old. she is not doing very much pointe work at the moment and we were wondering if she would be expected to dance on pointe.

English Youth Ballet and National Youth Ballet are 2 different entities.Both are great performance experience for young dancers.EYB has plenty of non pointe roles.I'm sure your DD would have no difficulty in selection for EYB if she is a RB MA.EYB are based regionally -the children do 11 rehearsals then 3 performances.The majority of the rehearsals are based around school holidays eg the Newcasle Swan Lake April performances rehearse mainly during Easter; the most recent Manchester Giselle rehearsed in October half term for November performances.There are also some weekend rehearsals and some of the shows may be during the week depending on venue.NYB is based in the south with a summer school for rehearsals based at Tring (residential only for 12+ and day attendance for the younger ones) and the performances are in London and a touring arm.The standard is generally said to be higher than EYB.My DD has not done NYB so there will be others better able to comment.More info can be found on their websites.http://www.englishyouthballet.co.uk and http://www.nyb.org.uk