Pointe help

Dancing_demon

Can someone please give me some tips and exercises for strengthening my feet and toes for pointe?  :)

Im 15 and I've been doing ballet for nearly 12 years. My teacher says my first two toes are strong enough for pointe but i need to strengthen and straighten the rest of them. I have tried toe tape, therabands and drumming my toes and nothing seems to help. Can someone please Give me some help?  :)

Hello

Can you give a bit more information about how long you have been on pointe and what your teacher sees as the problem? Firstly, don't give up as there are loads of different strengthening exercises which will help as long as you do regularly. Is the problem not being in the centre of the block of your shoe when on pointe or not being able to get fully up onto pointe? It may also be that the type of shoe you are wearing should be checked by your teacher. One way that would isolate the divide between big and little toe is to practice lifting the big toe off the floor and then putting it down and then lifting all the other toes together off the floor together whilst your big toe is on the floor. You may need to use your hand to steady parts that need to be kept on the floor initially until you get strong enough. In addition, practice systematically lifting all toes off the floor whilst keeping your heel on the floor and then place one toe down at a time starting with the little toe if this weakest so it's like playing keys of the piano with each toe. Again you may well need to use your fingers to hold certain toes up until the muscles get stronger. This should most definitely strengthen the toes and intrinsic muscles. You can progress to using one of those lovely elastic bands which the post man drops on your doorstep as a mini Theraband for each toe to push down against. That way you can target specific toe weakness.