Graceful dancing

ladybug88

So I have started back up in ballet and I love it however I don't quite have that gracefulness that I need and once had. I tend to be ridged in my movements and tense. How do I relax more while dancing? I know I am starting back at beginner level but I would like to know how to move more graceful.

Another thing is my arms lol. I feel like when I dance they aren't even apart of my body. How am I suppose to move them to make them look nice?

Yes I know these are silly questions but I am new to ballet after not having done it in over 10 years and there is a lot I am having to catch up on.

Try a Pilates class as well as the ballet as you probably need to rebuild your core strength to have freedom of movement in your limbs. Darcey Bussells Pilates for life book and dvd are quite a good start if you can't get to a class.

There are hundreds of abs workouts which will tone the core. The main problem is that an abs workout is incredibly boring to do and completely useless for losing weight. I read recently that 50 crunchs burns a whole 3 calories. It doesn't matter much which workout you do, but you have to do the workout regularly to achieve results. This is difficult. Sometimes life events get in the way, and sometmes you just can't be bothered. It's all about commitment and self motivation.