Do you need opera glasses for ROH amphitheatre?

Hello, I'm very new to theatre going in general, never mind ballet, and was wondering if anyone had any advice on the need (or not) for opera glasses at the Royal Opera House??

I'm going to see Birthday Offering/A Month In The Country/Les Noces in July and will be in row J of the amphitheatre. The only other time I've seen a ballet at the ROH was from the stalls, so I could see everything that was going on really clearly. I've suddenly started panicking a bit about how much I'll actually be able to see from where I'm sitting when I go in July! I know absolutely nothing technically about ballet so don't feel a need to see the dancers' feet close up but I am wondering whether not being able to see their faces clearly will spoil things, especially in A Month In The Country where the acting is important?

Do you think opera glasses are a necessity from the amphitheatre? Would be really grateful for any advice/opinions!

Welcome. A good point for discussion.

I never use opera glasses, not because my eyes are wonderful but because I just don't get on with them and find them more trouble than they're worth, especially as I wear glasses. However, maybe if I had the right pair things might be different. My impression is that good opera glasses are very difficult to find - most small binoculars seem to me to be too powerful. Good optics are expensive too.

The view from the Amphitheatre, even without opera glasses, may be better than from the Stalls as one can take in the whole stage more easily and the birds-eye view can often enhance things. In ballet, faces are not that important: it's the whole person who acts.

However most of the regular ballet-goers whom I know do seem to be wedded to their binoculars so may be able to give better advice about what to get (or not) than me.

• Like 1