What is professional dance training like?

dancebrain

Hello everyone,

I’m a researcher working at the Dance Lab at the university of Hertfordshire in collaboration with the charity Dance UK and Trinity Laban. Together, we’re looking to develop a resilience toolkit for dancers to help them become more resilient to the everyday challenges of professional training. We’re very much in the early stages of research but I was wondering if those of you who have been in professional training or are currently undergoing it would be able to tell me what aspects of dance training you find stressful.

Thanks so much in advance!

• Like 3

Let me say first - I am retired from both perforrming, taking class and teaching.  I still coach occasionally and write about dance.

So, that said.....in looking back, for me the most stressful aspect was finding good teachers.  If one is involved at the professional level, then the assumption is that the dancer has the "tools" - the body and dedication for the vocation.

The possibility of injury is always a concern.  Competition is a constant.  But those aspects are constants in many vocations.

However, because the ballet dancer is dependent upon a daily class, studying under a good teacher is a daily need from the first day to the last. 

Finding a good teacher - someone who knows has to transmit knowledge - how to transmit that knowledge not only to the class as a whole, but how to reach each student is a never ending search.

A teacher who is in the room for the sake of the student - not to serve  his/her own ego.  

A teacher who corrects and interacts positively.  Is not afraid of laughter.  

A teacher who doesn't operate through fear.  Who doesn't promote unhealthy contention and competition.  

A teacher who makes time and is willing - eager - to discuss issues with the student and/or family.  

Who doesn't depend ivory tower upon distance for authority.