Royal Conservatoire Scotland Personal Statement

Pointytoes22

I'm applying for the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland's Modern Ballet course for Sept. 2015 entry. As the application is done through CUKAS, you have to write a 4000 word personal statement :o   

Could those who have applied to RCS/have experience of writing personal statements for dance give any advice on what is important to include?

And is the personal statement really that important for this kind of course where so much is based on talent, physicality etc. at audition? 

Thanks x

Pointytoes22 you may want to speak to the teachers at school that usually advise students applying to uni to give you some pointers. I am of course presuming you are still at school. There may also be advice on the ucas website. I am a teacher and have advised students myself so Please pm me if you need help though I have only advised on academic courses in the past but I am pretty sure its pretty much the same sort of thing.

Dramascientist

The 'count' is 4000 characters including spaces rather than words -that would be a book full!!!! PS are relevant but for music and dance at this level it is the audition that is the most important aspect followed by the PS. Get lots of advice from school and your teacher but make sure it is 'your' voice and passion that is heard through your writing.

Heather

Aka Taxi Mom

• 1 month later...
  • 2 weeks later...

Yeah it was sorry! Yeah it's really nice! So modern and the studios are amazing. We got to sit in on some classes with was really helpful, quite intimidating but really good to see the progression throughout the different years. Yeah I really enjoyed it and will definetly be applying! Have you send away your application yet?

• 1 month later...

Hello,