Giving up when its 'hard'

Window

Hello,

This is my first time posting on a forum, but I've read through some of the threads and I'm in need of some advice from you much more experienced people!

My daughter is nearly 8 and has been doing ballet for 2 years in our local 'conservatoire' (we are in France).

Her teacher introduced her to another teacher in Paris and she has started classes there this year. It turns out that these classes are really full on and the teacher got 9 kids into the Paris opera dance school last year so its basically preparing for that.

She's only had 2 classes, but she doesn't like it because the teacher is too strict and she can't make up her own dances (!). Also the teacher said that she needs to concentrate more and that she doesn't think that my daughter wants to be a dancer (although the first class went well and the teacher said that she could be really good). So all in all not a great success up until now...

My husband thinks that we should make her go because you shouldn't give up just because its hard, and while I agree with him I feel like all the other children in the class are much more focussed on being a danser and she doesn't necessarily want that. But then she's only 7...

So I don't know, I guess I'd like to know if anybody else has been in this position.

Thank you for reading this!

Hello Window and welcome to the Forum. My opinion is ,that THE single,most important thing for a child whatever their age is that they enjoy what they are doing. Otherwise there isn`t much point. She could stick it out ,going along to the classes reluctantly but eventually I would imagine it could put her off dance completely and she may never want to dance again.!!  She is very young,and if the class is a "serious" class, where all the other children are serious about their ballet and your daughter just wants to enjoy herself,then perhaps this is the wrong class for her. 

• Like 7