The LAB Summer Intensive - Beginner Friendly?

david2189

Hi all,

New member, so first of all hi! :) I'm a male adult dancer, starting out again at 25. Currently living in London

So onto my question, I'm really interested in the the LAB Summer Intensive, but I'm unsure as to if it would be suitable for relative beginners.

Now I did do a fair bit of ballet around 3 years ago (6 months on and off) and I'll also be doing another beginners course with City Academy up until the intensive starts so I won't be a "absolute complete beginner". 

The website did mention that dancers would be split into 3 groups, Low, Medium & Advanced. I assumed from this that low = beginner (possibly advanced beginner)?

If anyone has any insight I'd greatly appreciate it.

I did email but I haven't had any response as of yet and I'd like to get this booked in my diary ASAP if I was to do it.

Thanks all!

Dave 

• Like 1

You would really have to have a couple of years experience so at least advanced beginner to get the most out of it.

The dancers in LAB do vary a great deal though as some are pretty good (Advanced level standard) and others probably about grade three standard.

However it's not just about the level if you thinking of doing one of their intensives......it's about the fitness and stamina required to keep up with 4-5 days dancing and if you are not that fit then you could end up as a comparative beginner with injuries.

Well you do have youth on your side though so if you have been doing other activities which have kept you pretty fit then you'll probably be okay.

I do belong to LAB but because I am older (and now wiser where intensives are concerned) I now do their weekly class to learn the repertoire rather than several consecutive intensive days........though not at the moment as am injured!!

This injury was on another course not an LAB one but basically I misjudged my fitness levels and got too tired so this is when injury happened.