Boys Ballet Classes

Kate

Hi

Was hoping someone might be able to recommend a good fun boys ballet class in London or Hertfordshire. My eldest son has just turned 9 and after doing street dance for a year wants to give ballet a go. He'd prefer a boys only class if possible. Any suggestions and/or advice very much appreciated

Kate

Hi Kate,

I've heard that the West London School of Dance boys' classes are enjoyable and challenging. They have more than one level/age group, I think, and are on Thursday evenings. I know several younger boys who *love* them and they take absolute beginners.

Also, London Junior Ballet are auditioning for Sept quite soon and they have separate classes for boys too.

Hope this helps!

Marianne

Hi, Tring Park do a boys dance day in May I believe (call them they are very approachable). My son did this several times when he was younger and they were great for boys to be with like minded boys. They do a ballet class, jazz and possible tap. They have some male teachers do a question and answer session which is helpfull too. At lunch time the boys dash outside and play football! For the Saturday/evening classes they usually put boys together if possible, e.g. a grade 1 and a grade 2 boy may be put in the grade 2 class so that they are not the only ones was my experience. They also do a boys scholarship on the Boys dance day. Check out the website. Unfortunately he'll have to get used to being one of the few, but it does have many advantages!

Also check out doing English Youth Ballet productions as they always select a small group of boys and that was an excellent experience - plus being taught by a man combined with talks on dance belts etc, which sorted out the whole 'issue' as it came from a 'proper' male dancer.

I hope you find something.

Fx

• Like 1